Do I need to take the learner's permit test?
Before applying for a restricted driver's license (learner's permit) in the state of Florida, you must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course (D.A.T.A/TLSAE) and pass a learner’s permit exam.
Is this course and test authorized to get my learner's permit?
Yes. The course and test are authorized by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV or DMV) to meet the requirements needed for your first Florida learner's permit.
Are all course and test materials online?
Yes, all materials including the course, test and test prep are 100% online.
How often can I access the course or test?
You have 24/7 access the course, test and prep and can access as many times as needed.
What if I have questions about the course, test or permit prep?
Customer support is available 24/7 to assist you with any questions you may have via phone, email or live chat.
What is DATA course?
The course is commonly referred to as the D.A.T.A course, drug and alcohol course, first time driver course, or permit course. All of these describe the course but the official name by the Florida DHSMV is the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.
How do I complete my written exam online?
We offer the learner's permit test online for you to complete before, during or after you complete the TLSAE course. If you are not ready to take the learner's permit test, you can access the learner's permit prep materials to help you pass the first time.
How long is the DATA/TLSAE course?
The Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course is a total of 4 hours long. You can complete at your own pace, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
What is the permit prep?
The permit prep is a resource of materials that will help you get your restricted driver's license. You can use the prep to prepare for your online permit test, written DMV exam or any other DMV test required to get your license.
What happens after I complete the course or test?
Student completion will automatically be reported to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. You will receive a copy of your completion certificate for your own records but you do not need to bring this with you to the DMV.
What documents do I need to take to the DMV when applying for my learner's permit?
- If you are under the age of 18, you need a parental consent form which must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner, or notarized prior if a parent or guardian will not be present. Visit http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/forms.html to access this form.
- Proof of identity, social security number, proof of residential address. Visit www.flhsmv.gov/WhatToBring to get a detailed list of these requirements.
Do I need anything else to get my permit?
If you've successfully completed the course and the exam, schedule your appointment (we give you this option with the permit prep), and bring the appropriate documents to the DMV. That’s all you need!
Learner's Permit Test Options
Questions? Call Us: 1-800-393-1063
As the proven leader in driver education and license testing, the American Safety Council offers LearnersPermitTest.com to guarantee you will:
- Study effectively
- Save time at the DMV
- Pass your test the first time
- Get your Learner's Permit